Hoptimum, a late IPAday post

So it was international IPA day this week, a made up day that along the lines of so many other made up days is all good and fun but really not that important. I did however go out for an IPA on IPAday. I’ve given notice from my current job and am in that interim winding down but still working phase. I also have colleagues who are easily corrupted so we went for a beer on IPAday. We headed to Mrs Parma’s where much to my dislike they did not have an IPA on tap, we had a Bridge Rd Bling IPA, the only IPA in the bar but it didn’t really alow us to fully explore the full idea of IPAday. Shame on you Mrs Parma’s for not having and IPA on tap when there are plenty of Vic IPA’s around, you really should have had the Mornington one on.

We did however have a few beers and blow off some office steam. I also bumped into Rick B who had decided to anounce a free IPA offer to the world of Twitter. This resulted in him lugging a suitcase of home-brew IPA into town from Frankston or where ever it is he lives. No mean feat. I’ll get to his Bison IPA in the coming week I think but go to Ricks website for more stuff he’s written about beer. He puts much more effort in than me. I believe he even uses spell check and may research his facts. I guess he’s the IPAday beer delivery fairy?

Anyway after not really doing IPAday all that well I’m playing catch ups. Yesterday I went to Slow Beer and did a little shopping. I grabbed a growler full of a Bairds Teikoku IPA from Japan, it was meant to be split with the brother-in-law until my niece and nephew got crook. As I didn’t want the hops to oxidise and go stale I ended up drinking it myself last night watching the olympics (yes Chanel 9 sucks) and a DVD (Any Questions for Ben, good movie). Anyway the beer was really nice, kind of english style in my mind, not to big, but a firm bitterness and a spicy backbone. A beer I’d happily have again. Oh and I really like the new Slow Beer shop, looks like a great place for a beer and a cheese board. I think I’ll be back to have a couple of beers in house in the not to distant future.

I also grabbed some Hoptimum,  apparently Sierra Nevada’s biggest IPA. this is what they say about it;

A group of hop-heads and publicans challenged our Beer Camp brewers to push the extremes of whole-cone hop brewing. The result is this: a 100 IBU, whole-cone hurricane of flavor. Simply put —Hoptimum: the biggest whole-cone IPA we have ever produced. Aggressively hopped, dry-hopped, AND torpedoed with our exclusive new hop varieties for ultra-intense flavors and aromas.

Resinous “new-school” and exclusive hop varieties carry the bold and aromatic nose. The flavor follows the aroma with layers of aggressive hoppiness, featuring notes of grapefruit rind, rose, lilac, cedar, and tropical fruit—all culminating in a dry and lasting finish.

Its big but not a killer, a fairly full beer with a really nice hoppy flavor. It’s also over 10%abv. This probably covers some of the hoppiness up, the alcohol sweetness cutting back or balancing the bitterness. It’s a nice beer, drinking it you know that its bitter and there are a shitload of hops in it but they don’t really smash you. There is that lingering hop resin flavor in you mouth after a sip, but that’s a good thing. It’s that resiny hit they talk about in the tasting notes above, not all that certain I get all the other things but it’s still good. Anyway I recommend getting a few of these if you see them. Hang on, oh yes it has malt too but that’s in the back seat to the hops, it’s a hop delivery device but not one that blasts the others out-of-the-way.

And I think it’ll go well with the fish tacos I’m just about to cook.

Cheers D

PS – I over did the chilli in the salsa that went with the flat head tails. Fuck me, that was a bit hot.

2 thoughts on “Hoptimum, a late IPAday post

  1. Bladdamasta says:

    I really want to try Hoptimum. One day.

Leave a comment you buggers! its the polite thing to do

