an answer perhaps in my search for the perfect saison?

Firstly I should say that no not really, but I am thinking that simplicity may be the key to a the perfect (well at least a good) saison.

My research on Saison Dupont, even though it was fairly thin all points towards it being 100% european pilsner malt and styrian goldings hops fermented with a yeast that best lines up with the Wyeast Belgian Saison at temperatures that are fairly steep. More or less any brewer should be able to replicate that to some extent. The yeast is apparently a tricky bitch (touch wood not for me) but there is nothing too tricky about the rest of the recipe, pills and Styrians. Whats so complicated about that?

I’ve just tasted my first bottle of my recipe as described above and its pretty fucking good, not earth shattering as its been in the bottle less than a week, also I under hopped it due to some discrepancies between the Beer Smith standard values on Styrian Goldings and what they had on the shelf at Grain and Grape in Yarraville. I was aiming for 30ish IBU with more hops in the finnish until I realised that I only had 80g of 3.4% aa hops so there was a bit of a reshuffle of the hop bill on the fly. The recipe is below is for a 29litre batch mashed at 64deg c with some gypsum. It came out at 1.o51 OG, finishing at about 1.010. I let the ferment start at about 20deg c and ramp up to 27 over about a week.

Amount Item Type % or IBU
7.00 kg Pilsner (2 Row) Ger (3.9 EBC) Grain 100.00 %
55.00 gm Styrian Goldings [3.40 %] (60 min) (First Wort Hop) Hops 21.2 IBU
25.00 gm Styrian Goldings [3.40 %] (1 min) Hops 1.5 IBU
1 Pkgs Belgian Saison (Wyeast Labs #3724) Yeast-Ale

It’s also the beer that I dumped the peaches into, havent tasted that yet, perhaps early next week. I’m worried that it will either be so good that I’ll never be able to replicate it or it will be so bad I may never want to brew again. I just can’t see my “Undoubtably Peachy” being just OK.

A very zen beer, so far I’m at this or my Saison 2011 as the recipe recomendations, perhaps some palm sugar in this recipe and we could be ok. Or the magnum pearle combination with this malt bill?

More thinking and brewing in store I think.

Cheers D

 

Tagged , , ,

Leave a comment you buggers! its the polite thing to do

