Gose ???????

Sometimes something gets in my head and wont go away, a bit like that last song you hear as you leave the house in the morning that goes around and around in your head all day. This morning my iPod had a thing for Huey Lewis and the News (it was a nostalgic purchase). Their 80’s hit “Thats the Power of Love” was stuck in my head all morning. If only some of the Tim Rogers I heard yesterday down at the free gig in the Williamstown Rotunda yesterday. unfortunately the sound wasnt great, and Tim was free of booze and swearing, as was myself. This was the soberest and least swearing that I have ever seen Tim, and perhaps as a coincidence it wasnt my favorite of his shows. But hang on i’m digressing, where was I………ah yes.

An idea to make Gose got stuck in my head last week, I think from reading part of an online magazine article about Gose. It sounded good. I want some. But first I hear you say what is Gose?? Good question.

Firstly I have never tasted Gose, so this is all a blind leap of faith. Secondly it is not Goose with one less  “o”, nor any other type of feathered beast. It is of course a beer (OK you all saw that coming, really what the fuck else do I write about??).

So my simple take on gose is its an old german style beer with salt and coriander, and a sour lactic twang. Wikipedia says –

Gose is a top-fermented beer style of Leipzig, Germany.

Gose beers are brewed with at least 50% of the grain bill being malted wheat. Because of the use of coriander and salt, Gose does not comply to the Reinheitsgebot. It is allowed an exemption from the rules on the grounds of being a regional speciality. It acquires its characteristic sourness through inoculation with lactic acid bacteria after the boil.[1]

The beers typically have a moderate alcohol content of 4 to 5% ABV. Dominant flavours in Gose include a lemon tartness, a herbal characteristic, and a strong saltiness (the result of either local water sources or added salt). Gose beers typically do not have prominent hop bitterness, flavours, or aroma.

That all sounds pretty good to me, again no idea what it really tastes like as I’ve never had it. I’ve grabbed some ideas out of “Brewing with wheat” by Stan Hieronymous, and some more ideas from “Wildbrews” by Jeff Sparrow.

So what am I going to do? I’m wanting to make a beer without doing a sour mash (because I don’t really have the time to do it and I’m lazy) and I don’t want to add a lactic culture as I don’t think I can get one for a few weeks. So I think I’ll put in a bunch of acidulated malt to get my acidic twang into the beer. Other than that I’m just going to pinch the recipe from Brewing with wheat. So here is what I think I’ll do.

45% Wheat malt

15% Acidulated malt

20% Munich malt

20% Pilsner malt

10 IBU of hallertauer. 1g/l of coriander with 10 minutes left in the boil, 3.5g/l of salt at knock out.

I think I’ll ferment it out with the farmhouse yeast I have in my fridge right now.

Well that’s what I’m thinking, if anyone has any ideas or tips on making this style please let me know. Kind of working in the dark here. Planning to brew this Friday if all goes to plan.

Cheers D

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a comment you buggers! its the polite thing to do

