Ye Olde Australian Ale No.2

Following on from yesterdays revelation that there is an old world style of beer called Australian Ale, in the ball park of an IPA I’m back with more info, sooner than expected. Cheers to both Martyn and Arcticalchemy for the help posted on Zythophile, Its all spot on info. The blogosphere is such a helpful place, all info offered willingly and freely.

I think I have enough to work from here, bit of a blend of the two recipes malt bills ( I’m pretty sure I can get some floor malted stuff), targeting an OG of around 1.080-90 all EKG for about 50 IBU, I may stretch the boil to a 2 hour boil but that will really push my patience. I think I’ll also add some dry hops, as I’m pretty sure that would have been par for the course.

I’m guessing if I put this beer in a home brew comp it’ll be in the barley wine category but I’ll still be calling it an Australian Ale. Here are the comments back and forward that got me to the recipe idea above. ;

Darren
as my winter brewing time table isn’t set and I love brewing IPA’s I think I need to do an old school Australian Ale, add some history and local relevance to my brewing. Apart from it being around 1.100 OG and not as hoppy as an IPA (old style English) my guess is mostly pale malt, but perhaps some black and crystal, and keep it simple on the hops, mostly EKG in the boil but also some dry hops in the cask (keg) either for aging or at serving, about 60 IBU’s?
Any more info on a recipe Martyn (or anybody else)???


arcticalchemy

June 14, 2011 at 11:18 am

This might get you close to what you are looking for Darren…


17.75 lb Pale Malt, Maris Otter
14.50 lb Pale Malt (2 Row) UK
4.50 lb Amber Malt
1.50 lb Brown Malt
1.25 lb Caramel/Crystal Malt -120L
6.00 oz Goldings, East Kent [(120 min) 34.0 IBU
3.75 oz Goldings, East Kent (20 min) 11.8 IBU
3.00 lb Dememera Sugar
10.00 gal Burton On Trent, Water
Measured Original Gravity: 1.112 SG
Measured Final Gravity: 1.038 SG
Estimated Color: 20.3 SRM
Bitterness: 45.7 IBU
ABV: 9.74 %

Or 1902 Bass’ King’s Ale


34lbs Pale Malt ( 2 row) UK
12 Oz East Kent Goldings , 6oz at boil , 6 oz 6 hours into boil
12 Hour Boil


Darren

June 14, 2011 at 11:56 am

Cheers Arcticalchemy,

I like the look of the first one, minus the 12 hr boil. I think I’d have to ad a bunch of dry hop though (and do it with a 1 hr boil). Any chance of some batch sizes to go with those numbers (litres or gal?)
Where did you find this lot?

arcticalchemy
June 14, 2011 at 3:48 pm
These would be for a US 10 gallon batch, sorry to not include that info Darren. Indeed dry-hopping would improve the aroma with the first recipe which is an old Bass Burton #1 circa 1870′s ( which they actually called a Barley Wine ), I included the King’s Ale recipe as a comparison to achieving virtually the same result with only one ingredient ,which I find remarkable.
Indeed, the 12 hour boil is a bit much for me too, no need for coloring/flavoring malts with King’s Ale. I also think King Edward VII would have not “stuck around ” after he moved the valve to start the mashing on this ale.

Darren

June 14, 2011 at 11:59 am
Tasy is a cold bastard of a place so something warming and dark would fit.
But Martyn is there actually 1 Australian Ale or were there a range of styles sent out here?

Martyn
June 14, 2011 at 1:09 pm
Darren, there appears to have been one beer which was most frequently given the name “Australian Ale”, which was No 3 grade Burton Ale, like the beers Chris has given the recipes to above, but aiming at an OG of around 1080. Other beers were occasionally called “Australian pale ale” and similar, but those were rare: No 3 Burton was the regular “Australian Ale”.


Final bits and pieces to be sorted in the future, but more or less sorted, just need to do a few calcs and brew it.

Cheers D












3 thoughts on “Ye Olde Australian Ale No.2

  1. Anonymous says:

    Hmmm 47IBU doesn't sound very IPAish is it? Though this is an APA so perhaps the crims were bitter enough and needed softening up. Bad Joke right there.

  2. Anonymous says:

    How about a more Aussie version of 2'Tex? After all is there anything more Aussie? The label can be a picture of a guy in stubies eating a pie and sauce. Perfect.

  3. Darren says:

    damn you anonymous peoples, as for the 47 IBU's this is an Australian Ale, not an IPA. More in the line of an english barley whine I think. And yes, bad joke.This one will be called 3'Tex, he is taller now. Not sure this beer will go with a pie though.

Leave a comment you buggers! its the polite thing to do

