Good Beer Week wrap, entry 4 I think, or is it 5??

Hello there trendsetters,

I’m back from the wild west. OK the cold west where I have been attending to matters of great importance otherwise known as my job. There seems to be an increasing trend of me having to spend more time in rural Victoria. Not a bad thing in its self but so far it has failed to include any good beer destinations, plenty of pub parma’s but little good beer. That’s probably my own fault but after good beer week I think I needed a relaxing non good beer week.

So now I need to round off my good beer week experience write up which will be confined to last Fridays beer tasting at Purvis Beer. I didn’t make it to the Australian international Beer Awards tasting on Saturday as my tickets arrived on Monday (bugger) and there was a few beers with Dave but that doesn’t really count so now for my review of the Purvis Beer tasting session.

Purvis Beer is on Bridge Rd in Richmond, so getting there from work wasn’t a big deal. However I had never been there and had no idea that they had an odd numbering system where the numbers didn’t match on both sides of the road. Interesting. So for the beer tasting, this is what they said about it;

While the awards for 2011 are being handed out at the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre, how about tucking into some of last year’s top drops – plus a few that are fancied to do well this time around? Purvis Beer Richmond is offering beer lovers the chance to do just that. They’ve arranged a fancy lineup that includes some of the gold medal winners from 2010 plus a few of the potential challengers for the gongs in 2011.
This is the list of beer they had listed but I think there may have been a few different ones there, bit hard to remember but I’ll write some comments on the beers they listed anyway. I do need to stress that I don’t really think that the tasting session is the best way to fully get an idea of a beer. For that you need a pint. All we got was a taste in a wine tasting glass, giving enough to get an idea of the beer and if you think its worth further investigation or not. Now I should also note that buy no means were they stingy with the beer, to the contrary actually i had more than a few refills on more than one beer.
Bridge Road Saison – I always enjoy this beer even though I think it varies a bit. I enjoy it most when its drier.

Feral Hop Hog – nice beer, good hoppy IPA, I hadn’t had this one before but I’m looking forward to having a pint.

Mountain Goat Surefoot Stout – yup go get some.

Nogne O Imperial Stout – yup go get some times 2.

Weltenburger Asam Bock – I don’t remember this one.

Weihenstephaner Vitus – this one was not so outstanding as i recall, a bit disappointing as i usually like their beers.

Schneider Weisse Tap 6 Aventinus – did I have this one??

Lined up in the Challengers corner are:
8 Wired Hop Wired – have had it before, a nice beer but I still have a not sure policy when it comes to NZ hops in IPA’s???

Estella Damm Inedit – this beer is one for the ladies, not for me. It was apparently designed to go with

Orkney Dark Island Reserve – I really liked this beer, boozy, okay, perhaps a bit short on body but I’d definitley like a pint of it.

Amager Hr. Frederiksen – I really cant remember this one

Gouden Carolus Cuvee Kaiser – I think this one was a golden strong and a good example of the style at that.

Holgate Beelzebub’s Jewels – quite enjoyed this one, nice backbone from the time it spends in oak. I think I need to find a pint of it to really get to know it but that may be difficult as its a rare drop.

Cantillon Rosé de Gambrinus – an absolutely gorgeous beer. Its a sour beer but had a number of people who had ever had a sour beer (and the name sour turns them off it) really getting into what is perhaps the holly grail of beer geek beers. Have a bottle not a pint.

All in all a good session by the guys at Purvis Beer, especially to Damian, as he’s the only person at Purvis I know, and he sent me the invite on Facebook.

Looking forward to good beer week for next year. There is a strong chance however that my liver isn’t.

Cheers D

PS its Dazzapalooza this weekend!!

Leave a comment you buggers! its the polite thing to do

