0.5% ABV Nanny State

What the fuck? I can smell the hops but what is this taste???….

How did I get to this statement? Let me explain. Its a Wednesday night, I thought I’d make myself a pizza. Turns out I’m not paying a whole lot of attention to detail and I ran out of flour, this resulted in my pizza dough resembling something more like pancake mix. So I headed down to the little IGA in the village (yes I live in a village) to get some flour. Did I mention that its pissing down rain? no? anyway.

I get the flour and some other random stuff but as there is a bit of a cue for the cash register I duck into the bottle shop section (where I got my Cooking Lager Tribute beers from) to see if they have anything cheap or interesting. And there I saw it “Brew Dog Nanny State” a 0.5% ABV insanely hopped imperial mild. So when I tasted it I had the following reaction – What the fuck? I can smell the hops but what is this taste???….

The first nose on this beer is just all about the citrus hops but the body is just non existent. I kind of like what they have done with this beer, lots of hopps, no booze. I could have 20 and still drive home. I’m not sure that I would want to drink 20 of them though.

Its a reverse extreme beer, but still keeps some extremeness. I’m not going to call it insanely hoppy, perhaps that’s something to do a lack of booze to carry it. It really needs some more malt though. What malt is there is a little roasty, however its got more of a home brew experiment taste to it. Kind of a home brew English Mild that needs some water chemistry work done on it.

However I don’t think this beer was ever made to be a worlds best beer. I believe that it was made to tell some English wowsers and funstoppers where they could shove their anti strong beer regulations. That makes this beer taste better. Some funstoppers apparently had issues with Tokyo, a beer that I think may be one of the best in the world. Some pommy wowsers thought this 18% ABV beer would end the world, and send kids straight to hell.

I like that this beer tells people who don’t get beer (or other good stuff) to keep their noses out of it and go back to knitting or showing silky terriers or whatever else they do. I hate regulation for the sake of it, especially when it see’s people trying to stop someone from doing something they don’t do themselves. Boo to the fun stoppers. High priced hand crafted beers with less booze that most spirits are not going to cause increases in gang warfare or car theft. They just taste good. Wowsers go home!

I’m going to have a full strength beer and make my pizza. It may just be an extreme pizza. OK no it wont.

Oh and I’m going to add the dry hops to my IPA from the weekend. This beer is neither reverse extreme or extreme, I think it’ll taste OK though.
Cheers D

2 thoughts on “0.5% ABV Nanny State

  1. Anonymous says:

    Nice site, nice and easy on the eyes and great content too.

  2. Anonymous says:

    An honest tale speeds best, being plainly told.

Leave a comment you buggers! its the polite thing to do

