I’m Excited!! Great Australian Beer SpecTAPular V’s the Yaraville Festival

I am pumped as today I have the option of 2 festivals of awesome. OK well not quite. I live in Yarraville and today is Yarraville festival day, otherwise known as festivus. I know this because they put a flier in my mail. I went to it last year with Sal. She made me watch the dog fashion parade and look at craft with her (I think Marku still owes me a beer for that).

We did have beers and meet giant transvestites but still I’m not sure that it will be my festival of choice as I have another option that I am genuinely excited about. I don’t mean excited as in “oh you got a new iPhone. That’s exciting”. I mean Big Kev “I’m Excited!” excited (RIP Big Kev, we miss your awesome shirts and cleaning products). I’m Excited !! about Spectapular!! (yes all those exclamation marks mean I’m shouting!!!)

As its clear which choice I’ll be making (sory festivus, I may walk through and grab some lunch though) here is the list of beers that I’ll be choosing from, and yes they do sound wierd and wonderful. No idea what I’ll start with (note one or two have dropped out due to injury or drain pours)

* Original Fassbier – Kellerbier matured on roasted oak chips (Last Drop, WA, 4.6%)

* Cucumber Sandwich – Summer Ale (Mountain Goat, VIC, 4.2%)

* kb – Kriek Berliner Weisse served through morello cherries (Wig & Pen, ACT, 4.3%)

* Organic Blueberry Hefeweizen (Otway Estate, VIC, 5%)

* Belgian Raspberry Wit (Kooinda, VIC, 5.5%)

* Fanny Gertrude’s Anzac Bickie Beer – Oats, coconut and vanilla ale (Burleigh Brewing, QLD, 5%)

* Red Relief (Stone & Wood, NSW, 4.7%)

* Cherry Bomb – Cherry and coconut porter (True South, VIC, 5%)

* Quince Ale (Lobethal and Brew Boys Collaboration, SA, 5.6%)

* Zephyr – Double White Ale (Doctors Orders Brewing, NSW, 5.6%)

* Chocolate Chilli Porter (Hunter, NSW, 5.8%)

* 2 Hills Maibock (Collaboration between Hargreaves Hill and Red Hill Breweries, VIC, 6.8%)

* Wee Heavy (4 Pines, 7.8%)

* Rye IPA (Mash, WA)

* Karma Citra – Black IPA showcasing the Citra hop (Feral, WA, 5.9%)

* Lemon Myrtle IPA (Jamieson, VIC, 7%)

* The Secret Romance of Herman van Rompuy and Cherry Poppens – Belgian style Flanders red (Moondog, VIC, 7.3%)

* The Empress – Imperial Mocha Porter (Holgate, VIC, 10%)

* Big Red Rocket – Imperial Red Ale (Bridge Road, VIC, 9%)

* Imperious – Imperial Belgian Blond Ale (Murrays, NSW, 11%)

Fore more stuff on Spectapular go to the link below for the Local TapHouse in StKilda. Good people who care about beer, and once found my phone for me.

The Local Taphouse Blog: Great Australian Beer SpecTAPular – only 1 sleep t…: “How excitement!!! Only 1 sleep to go until the much anticipated Great Australian Beer SpecTAPular is finally here. The finishing touches ar…”

Leave a comment you buggers! its the polite thing to do

