Brewery Progress and my Tripple

Brewery-nogne-oImage via Wikipedia

As the name of the blog suggests I’d like to have a brewery. I started the blog partly to push me along on getting the brewery progressed, also cos I found a button on the web browser that made it really easy to start one (ta blogger.com). In addition to leting me vent this blogg also let me find things like Mark Dappins blog and tell him that his new photo is stupid, and also find cooking for arseholes, and all his bacon recipes. I’ve now had over 1000 views so I thought I should write something brewery related.

At the start of 2010 I wanted to get beer on the shelf by the end of the year. Failed at that one, couldn’t find anywhere that could make beer that fitted my vision, or I could afford. I also tried to get a bit of work experience in a brewery. Had a crack at it early in the year, making calls to find somewhere to do slave labour and/or contract brew some beer. Failed on all accounts (pretty successfully actually) but do have a brew day booked in with Glen from Hargreaves Hill when I get my arse into gear and get out there.

I did manage to get my grad cert in brewing all handed in, all be it very late. I don’t know if I’ve passed yet but its all handed in. I’ll put that down for a brewing win for 2010. I also got some placings in VicBrew 2010. That was pretty cool, and good for the ego, mind you I flopped at the Nationals. Next year perhaps?

So what am I doing about a brewery? looking at the Braumiester 200l unit, however they wont be in the country till about June (something to do with Australian standards needing to kill one before they pass the electrics). That looks like a nice affordable unit that I can manage, of course its really to small and I still need and the licence stuff and a location but that’s all just details. So I wait, there have been some talks involving bolting together a Frankenstein system and world domination but nothing has come from that so far. Time will tell.

Anyway perhaps I should mate it 2011 has my beer on the shelf. Not sure how that will go, the dream will continue I guess. My less than interesting job will keep me motivated. Well its not really fair to call it boring, more like unfulfilled. Dont get me wrong we do good stuff, as they say punch above our weight etc. but I’d rather be brewing. So I’d like to get closer to that for 2011.

Back to my beers though, as I type I’m doing a side by side with my Tripple and a Westmalle tripple. I’ve come pretty close here, mine is a little lighter in colour and a touch sweeter, the westmall is a little darker and richer tasting but I’m struggling to split the two. The nose on the westmalle is a little more spicy. The monks probably win if I have to call it but as they have a little more practice at this than me I’ll give them this one. My tripple will however be an excellent beer to have with christmas lunch. Turkey and ham go well with big boozy beers that are relativley clean.

This was the beer that got miss entered as a golden strong and the judges told me it was too big and needed less sugar. Tripple not golden strong. Anyway if you like a tripple and want one that hits the spot try the below recipe, its from Brewing Classic Styles by Jamil J and John P. Its tweaked a bit and I added the sugar about 4 days into the ferment, I split this batch 50/50 with half getting the trappist yeast, the other half getting a witt yeast. The witt has more charactrer but the trappist is more to style. Brew it bitches.

St Muggery Tripple

Amount Item Type % or IBU

7.50 kg Pilsner (2 Row) Bel (3.9 EBC) Grain 75.00 %

0.30 kg Wheat Malt, Bel (3.9 EBC) Grain 3.00 %

0.20 kg Aromatic Malt (51.2 EBC) Grain 2.00 %

80.00 gm Tettnang [3.50 %] (60 min) Hops 25.3 IBU

10.00 gm Saaz [3.70 %] (60 min) Hops 3.3 IBU

20.00 gm Saaz [3.70 %] (10 min) Hops 1.3 IBU

2.00 kg Sugar, Table (Sucrose) (2.0 EBC) Sugar 20.00 % (added into the ferment)

30 litre batch, 70% efficency, starting gravity 1.082, finnishing gravity 1.014, 8.9% ABV, 30 IBU. The biggness of the beer hides the IBU’s well, I think this beer could do with more hops though for my taste. for the ferment, start coolish (bout 18 deg C)then chase the bastard home with temp increases rising to aboue 26 deg C over about a week- 10 days depending on how the yeast behave. Dont be afraid to give it s swirl. Belgian yeast need to be treated a little rough.

The one with the red dot is mine, the other was made by the monks at Westmalle (or who ever they have working for them). Also I dont know why I have a whole roll of red dots. Needless to say this tasting session is a heavy one. Beer tastes good, cant tip it out, but I may be a little slow tomorrow.

Thankyou for the readings, makes me feel good 🙂

Cheers D

2 thoughts on “Brewery Progress and my Tripple

  1. Anonymous says:

    Glad I make you feel good. I bet I don't make you feel as good as your neighbour with the black socks does however! Have you hooked up with him yet? Can we have an update? Seriously its like days of our lives and its all I'm hanging out for. BTW is an IBU an Interglacial Butt Ulcer?

  2. Darren says:

    alas I dont think it would work for us, feel that his love for black socks may be a little too strong, and either his house is a backpackers or he is a major slut. So no action to report, but perhaps next week he will turn out to be my father.IBU may well be Interglacial Butt Ulcer in your world, but in mine it stands for International Bitterness Unit, a measure of how bitter a beer is thanks to the contribution of hops. Wonderful things those IBU's, hoping you enjoy your version as much as I enjoy mine.

Leave a comment you buggers! its the polite thing to do

