Obama, will it blend ,weapons of mass destruction, pony

BEIJING - AUGUST 23: (L-R) Silver medalist Nin...Image by Getty Images via @daylife

I am testing a theory that the title of a blog entry determines how many people will read it, hence the list of words in the title. I will say nothing about anything of them, except that will if blend is pretty awesome. Blog dust, don’t breathe that. Oh and the photo is not related to anything, but thumbs up on the medal and the PJ’s girls.

Oh and I’m linking all the articles the blog program thing suggests.

I brewed again today, and had none of the fuckups that I had last week when I had a stuck mash due to a spiders nest in some tubing and shortened my boil time to 41 minutes after I emptied every gas bottle on the farm. All 5 of them. That was not a good brew day the beer however tastes ok, just finished up kegging it up and all going well it will be on tap at Dave and Julies in a week or two.

This is the recipe I was working too, the pale 31 recipe from the Brewing Network, CYBI.

5.00 kg Marris Otter Pale (5.9 EBC) Grain 80.65 %

0.80 kg Munich Malt (17.7 EBC) Grain 12.90 %

0.30 kg Cara-Pils/Dextrine (3.9 EBC) Grain 4.84 %

0.10 kg Wheat malt (5.9 EBC) Grain 1.61 %

9.00 gm Goldings, East Kent [4.80 %] (60 min) (First Wort Hop) Hops 5.1 IBU

28.00 gm Cascade [5.00 %] (Dry Hop 3 days) Hops –

28.00 gm Centennial [9.70 %] (Dry Hop 3 days) Hops –

9.00 gm Chinook [11.40 %] (30 min) Hops 5.6 IBU

28.00 gm Cascade [5.00 %] (1 min) Hops 2.5 IBU

28.00 gm Centennial [9.70 %] (1 min) Hops 4.8 IBU

5.00 gm Gypsum (Calcium Sulfate) (Mash 60.0 min) Misc

1 Pkgs British Ale (Wyeast Labs #1098) Yeast-Ale

This was for a brew length of 25 litres (boil volume of 32) but with the short boil I ended up with 28 litres. Mashed it at 65deg C.
 
Anyway dry hopped it and all tastes good. The experimental bit I did was put 4 litres in to a jug with some 1056. This didn’t get dry hopped and i think I like it better, dumped it into the mystery dredges keg 9which is tasting pretty good – bad idea though as it will never be repeatable). The lesson from this brew day was get Dad to fill at least one gas bottle at all times I think I may run out of gas.
 
On to today’s brew, this is my of favorite pale ale tweaked. The last time I brewed it I didn’t like the end result, to much of a focus on the Chinook, still a good beer with no faults but no real shine. so Ive upped the Cascade, added some centennial, and switched the malt from Joe White to Crisps, the efficiency went up about 10 %.
 
Here’s the recipe;
4.20 kg Crisps Pale Malt (2 Row) US (3.9 EBC) Grain 80.23 %

0.26 kg Caraamber (59.1 EBC) Grain 4.97 %

0.26 kg Caramunich Malt (110.3 EBC) Grain 4.97 %

0.26 kg Munich Malt – 10L (19.7 EBC) Grain 4.97 %

0.13 kg White Wheat Malt (4.7 EBC) Grain 2.48 %

0.13 kg Amber Malt (43.3 EBC) Grain 2.39 %

25.00 gm Chinook [11.70 %] (60 min) Hops 32.4 IBU

27.00 gm Cascade [5.00 %] (15 min) Hops 4.0 IBU

35.00 gm Cascade [5.00 %] (1 min) Hops 3.2 IBU

10.00 gm Centennial [10.00 %] (1 min) Hops 1.8 IBU

1 Pkgs American Ale (Wyeast Labs #1056) Yeast-Ale

Mash at 64 deg C, this is for a 27 litre batch with 32 to the boil. OG is 1.045.

Its sitting in an esky of ice right now, just want to chill it a bit before I pitch the yeast, looking for 20 deg C at least, fucking thing does not want to cool down. Hoping the cool week will help me out on holding the ferment temp back. If there is a generous benefactor out there please give me a temperature controlled conical fermentor. They are expensive and live in America.

I also have been remiss in not posting the photos of my magic box upgrade. It now has 2 taps. The photos explain it;

Tidy lounge room pre drilling and plastic shavings

Heating the tubing. Note Verry High Tech

Coil 2 installed. New tap is on the right

note the plastic shavings, fucking things went everywhere. Still finding the little bastards

and there we are, seedy customers happy pouring from both taps at once. Yes Jamie and Robbo you know you are seedy. I think Dr Frankenstein would have said “its ALIVE!!!!!!!!”. I was just glad the beer poured good.

That’ll do me. Oh a mo photo

There you go, more to come next week. Yes I look like a criminal and I have a meeting with the Victoria Police this week. Nest stop for me is crime stoppers. Donations for a good cause please.

Cheers D

Enhanced by Zemanta
2 thoughts on “Obama, will it blend ,weapons of mass destruction, pony

  1. Kate says:

    In the so-called title of this blog I was promised a pony – where's the pony?? Your rapey moustache is no substitute…

  2. Darren says:

    the pony is running in race 3 at fleminton on Saturday

Leave a comment you buggers! its the polite thing to do

