Back to the beer & Duff Ale

LONDON - SEPTEMBER 25:  Singer with Spandau Ba...Image by Getty Images via @daylife

Hello beer lovers. I’ve been slack and haven’t written much of the words on the blog type interweb thing thanks to a combination of being busy brewing, working, going out to stuff and the sore throat that I am currently trying to kill with vodka. I think the vodka is working but would probably not recommend it as a throat gargle. Does numb the throat though.

I did brew last weekend, my Nelson Sauvin driven pale ale – “Duff Ale” that will be on tap exclusively at Duff’s place on cup day. Had an excellent brew day with no fuck ups. That’s no fuck ups at all. The recipe is as follows;

Duff Ale all grain recipe and instructions
Malt
4.00 kg Crisps pale ale 75.47 %

0.80 kg Joe White Light Munich 15.09 %

0.30 kg Wyerman Cara-Pils/Dextrine 5.66 %

0.10 kg Simpsons Dark Crystal 1.89 %

0.10 kg Joe White Wheat Malt1.89 %

Hops
15.00 gm Millenium [14.40 %] (60 min) Hops 25.8 IBU

10.00 gm Nelson Sauvin [12.60 %] (20 min) Hops 5.1 IBU

20.00 gm Nelson Sauvin [12.60 %] (1 min) Hops 5.0 IBU

5.00 gm Gypsum (Calcium Sulfate) (Mash 60.0 min) Misc

Yeast – Wyeast Labs #1098 London Ale
Other Stuff, this was a 25 litre batch with boil volume of 32 litres and an effecience of 75%. OG was 1051, with a target FG of 1010. IBU’s about 35. Mashed at about 66 deg C

I also have one of the Grain and Grape fresh wort wheat kits with some cascade hops and the 1056 yeast, calling it parity ale. The reason for the name is not very good so I wont go into it. Beer names just make sense sometimes, like the 2Foot Tex IPA. Will explain another time.

Back onto my busy schedule, other than the budget cycle at work and the sore throat, I went to the Vic Micro Brewers Showcase last night and had some tasty beers. The evenings memorable beers were;

  1. The coffee infused bitter from the guy brewing at the Scottish Chiefs in Geelong. Fantastic nose on the beer, instant smile maker.
  2. Holgate “Roadtrip IPA” nice beer Paul, really nice hop aroma and hob flavour.
  3. Bridge Road Brewery – the saison, I think the best saison made in Vic,  and the galaxy pale ale. Nice beers.
  4. Thunder Road pale fizzy beer, for the hotish chicks with pony tales. Not a fan of the beer, I think they can do better.
  5. Mountain Goat double IPA. Excellent beer, nicely rounded with a nose that reminded me of Rouge Ales big beers. This is the kind of stuff mountain should do more of.

Anyway good night out followed by a feed at Bar Laurindah, which was as usual good.

All in all, alls going well, and to top it all off the vodka is working on my throat. That’s pretty much it for now other than I’ve got around a week till my 2 beers are judged in the Australian Armature Brewing Championships. Fingers crossed and any good luck charms that can be directed my way will be appreciated. The AABC will also coincide with the Australian National Homebrew Conference on Oct 29 and 30. I’ll be there having a beer at morning smoko with all of the other enthusiasts. i really enjoyed the last ANHC and plan on making the most of my ticket as I did in 2008 at the first ANHC. Club night on the Friday will most likely be the highlight and I think there may be a need for a bloody Mary on Saturday morning to get me to day 2 of the conference. Better not drink all the vodka.

This weekends plan does not include any brewing but may involve introducing Seg to sour beers. that will be interesting. I’ve also ordered a box of US IPA’s from Slowbeer. Will cost me way too much but have been able to pretty much get a hold of what I’d call my hero list of brewers IPA’s. There will be a review or 2 and no doubt a dent in my credit card.

Have a good’un people. And a beer.

Cheers D

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a comment you buggers! its the polite thing to do

